Leaving a Legacy: Fireside Chat with ParentPreneur Foundation CEO James Oliver, Jr.

About this event

"At the ParentPreneur Foundation, we want Black ParentPreneurs to see themselves as a great parent, as a great partner or spouse, and as a great entrepreneur -- to see their children inspired to live a purposeful and prosperous life because of the choices their parents made."


No one can deny that being a parent has many stressful moments. Now add entrepreneurship onto that and there's a lot more to consider. Not enough? Let's throw in a pandemic to make things more interesting... It can be hard to come up with so much to juggle. Luckily, there are people like James dedicated to making the rise a lot easier.


During the pandemic, James Oliver, Jr. decided to start the ParentPreneur Foundation to empower Black parents who are entrepreneurs to be the best parent and entrepreneur possible. Since the foundation opened in August of 2020, James has supported thirty Black ParentPreneurs with $1K grants, built a thriving community of over 1,300 extraordinary people, and is a participant in the Accelerate Equity program of the Techstars Foundation in 2021.


"The ParentPreneur Foundation wants to tell the story of the transformation of Black ParentPreneurs from struggle and loneliness to triumph and community."


It's truly nothing short of extraordinary to see people thriving during difficult times, but also focusing on really lifting others up along the way. I'm sure you're excited as I am to learn about James and his journey, as well as what comes next. Beyond the wisdom of helping the ParentPreneuers, James can enlighten us about the entrepreneurial journey in general, business, networking, his love for the GiveFirst mindset, and more.


In addition to enjoying this time with James, we're excited to be sending proceeds earned for this event to the ParentPreneur Foundation. James understands the unique challenges Black ParentPreneurs face and could use your help to bridge the gap. If empowering Black ParentPreneurs & legacy building for their children matters to you, please make a tax-deductible contribution. As little as $25 makes a big difference, so please give today.


Join us on April 29th at 12pm PST // 1pm MDT // 2pm CDT // 3pm EDT. See you there!

REGISTER NOW

Startup

Parentpreneur Foundation

At the ParentPreneur Foundation, we want Black ParentPreneurs to see themselves as a great parent, a great partner or spouse, and a great entrepreneur -- to see their children inspired to live a purposeful and prosperous life because of the choices their parents made.​ We want to tell the story of the transformation of Black ParentPreneurs from struggle and loneliness to triumph and community.

Speaker

Past Speakers


Brought to you by

  • Alexandra Renée Poelstra

    Alexandra Renée Poelstra

    ALL MAVEN

    Chapter Co-Director

    View Profile

Local sponsors

Partners